Game Over- Short Story

Finally after weeks and weeks I have returned to post some content. It has been long and taxing trying to manage my coursework and right but I think I am still sane (I think). So today for the first time I am uploading one of my short stories ‘Game Over’. Hope you enjoy and feel free to leave a comment for me to read.

Game Over

“Come on! Come on! Come o-aw man game over.” Hearing this my eyes drift off my own glaring screen and looked across the dimly lit internet cafe surprised to see a familiar face for a change. In control of a computer surrounded by a group of guys is a boy around my age. He was from my homeroom, Derek Tate. A pretty easy going guy, not in the shadows of life but not in the limelight either; basically someone I don’t interact with. “Man bummer…” exclaimed one of his faceless friends.

“I’m not really all that torn about it I’ll just set up another account with a new e-mail, no biggie.” Derek explained in a careless tone with an ease that could have been considered unique to him. Derek looks up at the clock.

“I’ll just do it when I get home, hey lets go over to that new place across the street I’m starving!”

“Yeah it’s nice over there!” a friend chirps. Derek stood up from his plush seat in front of the monitor and his friends groan as they got up from their uncomfortable crouches.

“We can get huge pizzas!” one of them laughed as the started making their way towards the exit.

As they walked past me Derek stopped and turned towards me “You’re Noah… right? That guy in my homeroom?”  I gave him a brief nod, why the hell was he talking to me? How did he even know I existed? I’ve never talked to him, nor even attempted to, I never spoke a word I was always in the back of the class. There I was, in a hooded get up that he shouldn’t even have recognised me in. He looks over at my monitor “What?! I didn’t know you played! You seem pretty good too! I seriously could have used you over there!” he gave me a smile like we were close friends.

“G-guess so…” was all I could manage to say from this display of acknowledgment.

“Well… I gotta go but I’ll see you tomorrow!” He rushed out the door to catch up with his friends. Derek had noticed me in the shadows of his life; I guess he was more observant than I originally believed, I almost told him I definitely would not see him tomorrow.

I got up from my seat to view the events that I was previously going to ignore. As soon as I saw the street crossing beyond the crystal clear glass I knew what was going to happen. His friends sped across the road and Derek despite their complaining waits for the lights to change like he has all day. The lights change and he starts to cross and like clockwork; they come around the corner. They probably were on standby until he crossed the road. Usually a person would warn the prey when danger was approaching. However there was only one word that came to mind as the car attacked Derek.

“Someone call an ambulance!”

Inevitable.

A disgusting feeling crept over me; I guess I shouldn’t have watched. I should have gone home. I logged off the website I was on, the very game that had murdered Derek:

www .savior. net.

Savior: the online game taking the world by storm. A game where you are a hero in a virtual world. The game has had an overwhelming amount of positive feedback, and even gained a few awards for a new way to teach morals to a more rebellious generation. However there is a dark secret that Savior does not put on their log in page.

‘WARNING: If you are killed in the game, you die in real life.’

As I walked down the dusty streets, the majority of people I passed were highly likely to be Savior users; and still nothing was being done. Savior deaths come in a variety of different ways, some like Derek’s, some by illness, accidents, or suicides, occasionally murder and so on, so that they mix with the billions of other people who stop breathing. Another factor which helped Savior keep its secret is being sponsored from some of the richest men in the world and is supported by many big influential figures. All deaths are made inevitable by them, and they are teachers, doctors, nurses, policemen, anyone who is in a position of trust over you, anyone and everyone. You must be thinking: if a seventeen year old guy can work it out, then shouldn’t everyone else be catching on? To be honest, because the government is not mentioning anything the majority of people believe it doesn’t happen, and they do say ignorance is bliss. It’s never spoken of, and as it’s not talked about, it is never been brought into public light. The only reason I believe is because of Allan, my late best friend.

To be honest I thought he was just getting paranoid over theories from conspiracy websites, but he took it all the way and purposely received a game over, I thought that would be the end of it; and it definitely was his end. He was found the next morning. Apparently he had slipped and banged his head in his room. I thought he had done it to get me to believe but unfortunately once your eyes are opened, they never close. People in my life were falling like dominoes, incident after incident. It drove me crazy trying to contemplate why this was happening, the only reasoning being that it’s some sick rich man’s idea of a game. However I grew comfortable with the idea of it being inevitable.

Finally I reached my house, and immediately I ran upstairs to log in. I bet there is a question you are just dying to ask, why? Why are you playing a game that could kill you? Well, I’m one of the few that can. I know my limits, I’m not stupid enough to face challenge’s I have a high chance of failing. From my screen my game avatar appears.

Name: Survivor.

Because that’s what I am; where others fall I will still be standing because I’m smart enough to never to let my guard down. In the outside world I am an antisocial kid hardly ever seen without a hood, only occasionally ever found outside of his room apart from school. In Savior I am a man, a man that can handle the pressure, I can-“Noah can I pway? Pwease?” pleaded my little brother, interrupting my line of thought.

“Joshua this is not a game! Now go to your room and play! Or something…” Reluctantly he goes with his tail between his legs. It’s not like he will understand the power I have over my own fate. I went to the quest menu to scavenge for suitable challenges. “Noah! Mommy needs a favour sweetie!” Reluctantly I got up at my mom’s command and left my room and went downstairs. I walked through the hall and automatically turn into the kitchen.

“Sorry honey bunch I thought I needed you to go to the store but I’m all good.” I rolled my eyes and made the journey back upstairs to my room. I opened the door.

GAME OVER

My impending doom on a screen. “Noah! What I clicked on was weally hard! I’m sowy…” My face paled at the remark. I-I’m going to die… How did this happen? I was so careful… I fall to my knees; I’m just another lamb for the slaughter… I’m going to die at the hands of them. I look at my brother, sitting still messing around with the keyboard still not realising what he has done. My eyes travel up to the clock, they will be coming and I contemplate how I will die. Tears prick my eyes; so this was the end…No… Unlike the others, I know they are coming!

I will fight.

Game Over- Short Story

Leave a Reply

